2022 Moot competition

Well done to all those who reached the finals stage of this year's competition. A close run contest saw the following winners emerge:

  • Lord Slynn of Hadley (senior moot) winners - Naomi Kilcoyne and Joshua Hillis from City University London
  • Dame Frances Patterson (junior moot) winners - Weronika Galka and Lester Ho from University of Oxford

Congratulations to both teams. They win a trophy, cash prizes kindly donated by No5 Chambers, 3 months' subscription kindly donated by ENDS and UKELA membership for next year. 

Our thanks to to the judges, with particular thanks to Richard Kimblin KC for setting the moot problem and judging the finals.

Watch the senior finals competition.  Watch here

Details about the 2023 competition coming later in the year. 


How to moot

Our thanks to Emily Allbon at City Law School for allowing us to share their resources on mooting. Click here.


Podcast with 2021 winners

Listen to our podcast with moot judge Richard Kimblin KC, speaking with the winners of last year’s moot, Stephanie and Liam. Thank you to No 5 Chambers. 


  • Winners of the Dame Frances Patterson (Junior) Moot were Samuel Burns and Charlie Coverman (University of London)
  • Winners of the Lord Slynn (Senior) Moot were Stephanie Bruce-Smith (University of Law - graduated) and Liam McKenna (University of Oxford - graduated)


  • Winners of the Dame Frances Patterson (Junior) Moot were Jennifer Edwards and James Heald (Bristol University of Law)
  • Winners of the Lord Slynn (Senior) Moot were Joe Broadway and James Harrison (BPP Bristol)


  • Winners of the Dame Frances Patterson (Junior) Moot winners were James Harrison and Melissa Wilson (BPP Law School and University of Cambridge).
  • Winners of the Lord Slynn (Senior) Moot winners were Jennifer Routledge and Abigail Scott (Birmingham University and Nottingham Trent University).