Brexit Task Force (BTF)

UKELA established a Brexit Task Force in September 2016 to advise the Association on matters relating to the UK's withdrawal from the European Union ('Brexit'). The group was co-Chaired by Professor Richard Macrory and Andrew Bryce. In 2018 Begonia Filgueira, Legal Director at Foot Anstey LLP and former UKELA trustee and Angus Evers, Partner at Shoosmiths and former co-Convenor of UKELA's Waste Working Party took over as co-Chairs.


The BTF was formally disbanded in February 2020. In its place the Governance and Devolution Group (GDG) was established to look at the implications for UK-wide environmental law in the transition period following the UK's formal withdrawal from the EU and beyond. Read about the work of the GDG on our dedicated pages


Terms of Reference for BTF

Year One Report on activity

Past meetings: minutes and papers


4 July - to follow

30 April 

14 February 


4 October 

11 July 

25 April 

17 January 


14 June 

13 March 

10 January 


13 September Inaugural meeting