If you are interested in the environment and are studying law or environmental science, being a member of UKELA is an invaluable way to start your professional career. Enhance your professional skills, add to your CV and start building your own professional network. Follow the tabs at the top of the page to find out more about all these fantastic opportunities. 

No content found


About Andrew Lees

Andrew Lees was the Campaigns Director for Friends of the Earth and a leading environmental campaigner on a range of issues from water pollution to illegal waste dumping. He died suddenly in 1994 while on a working holiday in Madagascar campaigning against a large opencast mine. Read more about the Andrew Lees Trust.

The essay competition was established in his memory and gives students the opportunity to demonstrate a good understanding and analysis of relevant environmental law via a well written and researched essay.


2024 Competition

We’re delighted to launch the 2024 Andrew Lees Essay writing competition. The winning essay will be published in elaw and the winner will receive a free online ticket for the UKELA Annual Conference. 

Our thanks to Dr Victoria Jenkins (Associate Professor, Hillary Rodham Clinton School of Law, Swansea University) and Dr Kyriaki Noussia (Associate Professor, School of Law, University of Reading) set the question: 

"Critically assess the impact of national laws in the UK on the achievement of the climate related targets in the Paris Convention." 

Who can enter?

The competition is open to any student, either under graduate or postgraduate, trainee solicitor, pupil or solicitor / barrister with not more than 2 years’ post qualification experience and to those seeking to qualify to such a position.

How to enter?

Please ready the full entry requirements and details of how to enter HERE

Essays and application form (please download and complete) should be emailed to [email protected] by midday Tuesday 2 April 2024.

New for 2024 - all entrants will be entitled to a year's free UKELA membership!


Previous winners

2023 - Winner: Garima Thakur - Read the winning essay 

2022 - Winner: Sebastian Van Dack-Owens - Read the winning essay

2021 - Winner: Niamh Kelly - Read the winning essay

2020 - The competition did not run in 2020

 2019 - Winner: Ryan Ross - Read the winning essay

2018 - Winner: Samuel March - Read the winning essay

No content found

No content found

No content found

No content found